Muttathu Varkey Award മുട്ടത്തു വർക്കി പുരസ്‌കാരം

Spread the love

Muttathu Varkey Award, മുട്ടത്തു വർക്കി പുരസ്‌കാരം,

Spread the love

Muttathu Varkey Award for contributions to the field of Malayalam literature is instituted by the Muttattu Varkey Foundation in memory of novelist Muttathu Varkey. The award was instituted in 1992 and as of 2012, it carries a purse of ₹50000, a citation, and a statuette. The awards are usually announced on 28 April (the birth anniversary of Varkey) and presented on 28 May (the death anniversary of Varkey) every year.

The award was instituted as a recognition of the writer’s (particularly novelists) body of work rather than any one title. In 2015, K. Satchidanandan became the first poet to be selected for the award. The year 2015 was the 75th anniversary of Muttathu Varkey’s debut into Malayalam literature with a poem titled ‘‘Aathmanjali’’ and so it was decided to have the award be given to poetry. In 2016 and 2017, the award was given for screenplay writing and notably in recognition for a particular work unlike previous years.

1992 O. V. Vijayan
1993 Vaikom Muhammad Basheer
1994 M. T. Vasudevan Nair
1995 Kovilan
1996 Kakkanadan
1997 V. K. N.
1998 M. Mukundan
1999 Punathil Kunjabdulla
2000 Anand
2001 N. P. Mohammed
2002 Ponkunnam Varkey
2003 Sethu
2004 C. Radhakrishnan
2005 Zacharia
2006 Kamala Surayya (Madhavikkutty)
2007 T. Padmanabhan
2008 M. Sukumaran
2009 N. S. Madhavan
2010 P. Valsala
2011 Sarah Joseph
2012 N. Prabhakaran
2013 C. V. Balakrishnan
2014 Asokan Charuvil
2015 K. Satchidanandan
2016 K. G. George
2017 T. V. Chandran
2018 K. R. Meera
2019 Benyamin
BACK TO Malayalam Literary Awards മലയാളം സാഹിത്യ പുരസ്‌കാരങ്ങൾ

Leave a Reply